BULLETIN

Bulletin No: 065 | 12 August 2020

To: ALL UFU MEMBERS

 

UFU SUPPORT FOR THE ANDREWS GOVERNMENT

FORM LETTER AND EMAILS BELOW

 

Our members know the challenge of making decisions in real time better than most – that the outcomes are rarely perfect and that the ramifications can be grave.

In dealing with an unprecedented crisis the current Victorian government has had to do just this, acting on the best available information and under enormous pressure. It is as important as ever that we support the Andrews Government as it is experiencing a sustained and ill-informed attack.

Key members of this government have worked with the UFU and its members on both the implementation of FRV and our hard fought for Presumptive Cancer legislation – changes that make us and all Victorians safer.

The UFU is not a fair-weather friend – We respectfully request as both members of the UFU and that of the community to show your support to the Andrews government.

Below is a pre-written letter of support, to which you are encouraged to add both your personal experiences and those of your family members.

The UFU has provided a list of the email addresses of members of the Andrews government. Please give serious consideration to sending your letter of support, in particular to the Premier and the Hon. Lisa Neville MP, Minister for Water and Police & Emergency Services.

UFU members have previously experienced an unjust campaign of vilification by sections of the media. We know from our experience that a letter of support goes a long way in times such as these.

A letter to the Premier, Ministers and your local member will mean a lot in this difficult time. Please give serious consideration to expressing your support.

 

Strength in Unity
READ OUT AT MUSTER AND PIN ON NOTICE BOARD
Authorised by Peter Marshall, Branch Secretary

 

 

Dear [POLITICIANS TITLE],

My name is [INSERT NAME] and I am a [INSERT RANK/ POSITION] at [INSERT WORK LOCATION].

I am writing to convey my support for your government during this trying time.

As a member of the UFU and Fire Rescue Victoria I know the characterization of this government in the media is untrue, and the attacks on social media unfair. You have been facing the challenge that myself and my colleagues must always face – making decisions in the moment and under enormous pressure.Rarely are these decisions perfect and just as with firefighting the consequences can be grave. These difficult decisions must be made and facing that challenge day in and day out, for some six months now, is no small achievement. The latest challenges with the current pandemic come on the back of an unprecedented fire season. The decisions made by the Andrews government have no doubt saved many lives.

Because of your government’s commitment to firefighter and community safety I am a proud member of Fire Rescue Victoria.

I know that your government cares about every Victorian. This has been demonstrated by your unwavering commitment to community safety and professional firefighters.

Because of your strong, devoted and compassionate government I now have Presumptive legislation protecting the health of myself and my colleagues in our time of greatest need – I know that your government cares about every first responder and front-line worker.

Please take comfort in the support this government will always experience from the membership of the United Firefighters Union and their families.

 

Yours sincerely,

[NAME]

[RANK/ POSITION]

[INSERT WORK LOCATION]

 

EMAILS OF MEMBERS OF GOVERNMENT

Note: Please also send a copy to the UFU reception@ufuvic.asn.au.

Member/Title Elecotrate email
The Hon. Daniel Andrews Mulgrave daniel.andrews@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Juliana Addison Wendouree Juliana.Addison@parliament.vic.gov.au
The Hon. Jacinta Allan Bendigo East jacinta.allan@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Lizzie Blandthorn Pascoe Vale lizzie.blandthorn@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Chris Brayne Nepean Chris.Brayne@parliament.vic.gov.au
the Hon Colin Brooks Bundoora colin.brooks@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Josh Bull Sunbury josh.bull@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Anthony Carbines Ivanhoe anthony.carbines@parliament.vic.gov.au
the Hon Ben Caroll Niddrie ben.carroll@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Darren Cheeseman South Barwon Darren.Cheeseman@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Sarah Connolly Tarneit Sarah.Connolly@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Chris Couzens Geelong christine.couzens@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Jordan Crugnale Bass Jordan.Crugnale@parliament.vic.gov.au
The Hon Lily D’Ambrosio Mill Park lily.dambrosio@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Steve Dimopoulos Oakleigh steve.dimopoulos@parliament.vic.gov.au
The Hon Luke Donnellan Narre Warren North luke.donnellan@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Paul Edbrooke Frankston paul.edbrooke@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Maree Edwards Bendigo West maree.edwards@parliament.vic.gov.au
The Hon John Eren Lara john.eren@parliament.vic.gov.au
The Hon Martin Foley Albert Park martin.foley@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Will Fowles Burwood will.fowles@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Matt Fregon Mount Waverley matt.Fregon@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Danielle Green Yan Yean danielle.green@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Bronwyn Halfpenny Thomastown bronwyn.halfpenny@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Katie Hall Footscray katie.hall@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Dustin Halse Ringwood Dustin.Halse@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Paul Hamer Box Hill Paul.Hamer@parliament.vic.gov.au
the Hon Jill Hennessy Altona Attorney-General@justice.vic.gov.au
the Hon Melissa Horne Williamstown Melissa.Horne@parliament.vic.gov.au
The Hon Natalie Hutchins Sydenham natalie.hutchins@parliament.vic.gov.au
The Hon Marlene Kairouz Kororoit marlene.kairouz@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr John Kennedy Hawthorn John.Kennedy@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Sonya Kilkenny Carrum sonya.kilkenny@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Gary Maas Narre Warren South Gary.Maas@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Steve McGhie Melton Stephen.McGhie@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Frank McGuire Broadmeadows frank.mcguire@parliament.vic.gov.au
The Hon James Merlino Monbulk  james.merlino@parliament.vic.gov.au
The Hon Lisa Neville Bellarine lisa.neville@parliament.vic.gov.au
the Hon Martin Pakula Keysborough martin.pakula@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Tim Pallas Werribee tim.pallas@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Danny Pearson Essendon danny.pearson@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Pauline Richards Cranbourne Pauline.Richards@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Tim Richardson Mordialloc tim.richardson@Parliament.vic.gov.au
The hon Robin Scott Preston robin.scott@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Michaela Settle Buninyong michaela.settle@parliament.vic.gov.au
The Hon Ros Spence Yuroke  ros.spence@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Nick Staikos Bentleigh nick.staikos@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Natalie Suleyman St Albans natalie.suleyman@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Meng Heang Tak Clarinda MengHeang.Tak@parliament.vic.gov.au
Mr Jackson Taylor Bayswater jackson.taylor@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Kate Theophanous Northcote Kat.Theophanous@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Mary-Anne Thomas Macedon maryanne.thomas@parliament.vic.gov.au
Ms Vicki Ward Eltham vicki.ward@parliament.vic.gov.au
The Hon Gabrielle Williams Dandenong gabrielle.williams@parliament.vic.gov.au
The Hon Richard Wynne Richmond richard.wynne@parliament.vic.gov.au